Home | News | 2022 Women’s Rugby World Cup Overview

2022 Women’s Rugby World Cup Overview

By Jeff Stinger

Nitrobetting shares this 2022 Women’s Rugby World Cup overview. A 12-month delay pushed back the Women’s Rugby World Cup to 2022. But, the long wait ends with the sporting event going back on track and on its way to New Zealand this October. Over 30,000 tickets have been sold for the opening game at Eden Park. This number destroys all previous attendance records of the event.

The reigning champions, New Zealand, will host the World Cup for the first time in history. Despite the ninth edition being postponed from 2021 due to the pandemic, the ninth edition is ready to deliver plenty of Rugby and betting action.

2022 Women’s Rugby World Cup

Tournament format

A total of 12 teams will fight for the 2022 Women’s Rugby World Cup title. It embodies a similar format to the 2006 event, splitting the 12 participating nations into four pools of three teams. Each nation plays three games, followed by the competition in which a re-seeding process happens. Nations then moved into divisions set by their respective overall tournament standing with the top teams advancing to the knockout stages.

This addition will maintain the same format. However, the classification round is replaced with the quarter-finals, similar to the men’s Rugby World Cup. Furthermore, this is the last time that the women’s Rugby World Cup will follow this format as the next tournament will accommodate 16 teams.

Notable dates

This year’s tournament sees the southern hemisphere for the first time. The 2022 Women’s Rugby World Cup kicks off on Saturday, October 8, 2022, in Auckland. Fans get to see South Africa challenging France in the opening clash. England also takes on Fiji on opening day.

The second and third pool matches happen between Saturday, October 15, and Sunday, October 23, 2022. A total of 18 pool matches await us, which promises plenty of memorable and exciting moments for Rugby and betting enthusiasts.

Qualifying teams get a few days of rest before moving on to the quarters. The quarter-finals commence on Saturday, October 29, and Sunday, October 30, 2022. Once the herd thins out, the semi-finals get underway by Saturday, November 5, 2022.

The 2022 Women’s Rugby World Cup Final match happens on Saturday, November 12, 2022, at Eden Park, Auckland.

Groups and Teams

The Women’s Rugby World Cup draw for 2022 (2021) took place in November 2020. A total of 12 participating teams are divided into three pools that feature four nations each. Here’s an overview of each pool and the teams.

Pool A

  • New Zealand
  • Australia
  • Wales
  • Scotland

Pool B

  • Canada
  • USA
  • Italy
  • Japan

Pool C

  • England
  • France
  • South Africa
  • Fiji

Where to Bet on the 2022 Women’s Rugby World Cup

This 2022 Women’s Rugby World Cup Overview shakes up the international Rugby scene this year. Nitrobetting keeps the action going with the latest 2022 Women’s Rugby World Cup odds. Find the latest odds and revel in some of our exclusive promotions. What are you waiting for? CLICK HERE to sign-up!

This is just one of the many sports betting guides that you can read here at Nitrobetting news. Stay tuned for more Rugby previews and articles and don’t forget to check out the latest betting odds on the sportsbook.

*All odds stated are subject to change without prior notice.